

## **European Union**

## Statement on the occasion of the IAEA Board of Governors Vienna, 15-20 June 2020 Agenda Item 11 (AoB): Application of IAEA Safeguards in the Middle East

Madam Chair,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union. The following countries align themselves with this statement: [The following countries align themselves with this statement: Turkey<sup>§</sup>, The Republic of North Macedonia<sup>\*</sup>, Montenegro<sup>\*</sup>, Iceland<sup>+</sup>, Serbia<sup>\*</sup>, Albania<sup>\*</sup>, Bosnia and Herzegovina<sup>\*</sup>, Liechtenstein<sup>+</sup>, Norway<sup>+</sup>, Ukraine, The Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia and San Marino.]

It remains a strategic priority of the EU to support peace and stability in the entire Middle East. The EU remains committed to the implementation of the Resolution on the Middle East adopted at the 1995 NPT Review Conference. The EU continues to strongly support the Action Plan on the Middle East agreed at the 2010 NPT Review Conference and reaffirms its full support for the establishment of a zone free of nuclear and all other weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems in the Middle East, as agreed by NPT States Parties. We believe that the path for action as set out in the 2010 Action Plan remains the most promising basis on which to proceed.

As stated before the EU is of the view that such Zones should be established on the basis of arrangements freely arrived at among all the states of the region concerned.

We strongly encourage all stakeholders, and especially the states of the region, to engage in meaningful consultations in order to reach agreement as soon as possible on the necessary arrangements for the conference to take place. The process must be inclusive for it to be effective and a proposal that forces the issue risks failure.

Thank you, Madam Chair.

<sup>§</sup> Candidate Country

<sup>\*</sup> Candidate Countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania as well as potential Candidate Country Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

<sup>\*</sup> Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein are members of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.